Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

100 Portrait Project is Back from the Dead!

2 Comments

Last week I sat at the easel and took 10 mins to sign “The Gift” at the bottom right hand corner. I sat back and stared and realized I was done, there was absolutely nothing more I could do to it. I guess some people might take an extended vacation from such a long project but I excitedly set another canvas up and immediately started working on a portrait. It has been too long!

I don’t want to take these portraits too seriously, I want them to be more of exercises in observational skills and exploration. Plus I really need to shake out the nitty gritty from my previous painting and loosen up again. It’s like having a cramp in my artists skills… or something.

Anyway, Say hello to “D. Dentice” Or Portrait #10.

Dprocess1

Underpainting, in blue this time, le gasp!

DProcess3

I started adding colour but I really wanted to hi-light the eyes. At this point I had wiped over the painting and started back into the eyes a second time.

DProcress3

I was liking how the painting was turning out but it didn’t feel right so I loosely painted over it again. I had done this about 3-4 times during the whole painting process, partially to redo areas and mostly to obtain a certain look and to keep myself from getting caught up in the details.

D.Denticeweb

Finished! It’s kind of “milky” but I like it.

“D. Dentice” 9″ by 12″ Oil on Canvas Board

D.Denticeclose

Details!

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

2 thoughts on “100 Portrait Project is Back from the Dead!

Leave a Reply

