Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

My Personal Ground Hog Day

1 Comment

For those of you who are not familiar with the Movie Ground Hog Day, you can wiki it, or just know that it is simply a man litearlly living the same day (Ground Hog Day) over and over again until he finally does the right set of actions that enable him to get the girl and finally move on with his life or rather, the next day. It’s pretty funny and I recommend everyone go watch it, right now.

I can relate to this man. (Except for the part where he “gets the girl”, no relation there.) For the past 3 months I feel I have been reliving the same day over and over again. There has been the occasional distraction here and there but art-wise it’s been the same ole same ole. I work, I run, I go home, and when I paint I work on the same painting. Work takes up a lot of my time and just recently I’ve been able to figure out how to paint around my tight schedule. It’s frustrating. I made a promise to myself, (More like a blood oath) that I wouldn’t paint anything else or work on any other personal projects until I finished this painting. (Oh wow I haven’t seen the original underpainting in so long!) You can see more up to date progress pics scattered amongst my Instagram. Anyway, did I say I was frustrated? I’m frustrated!! I see all my artist friends and artists I follow doing shows and working on their personal projects, I see my inbox fill up with group show invitations and I stare at all my unused canvas and gesso and get frustrated. I can’t paint this painting fast enough. Why is this painting so important you ask? Well it’s a very late wedding present to my best friends. They’ve been married for 3 years now and I’ve been working on it off and on for 4 years. I started it at the very beginning of my painting career and it holds a lot of personal anguish and accomplishment because as I have progressed as an artist this painting has progressed with me.

So, yeah I need to finish this damn thing and move on with my life! Although, I can finally say that I am almost done hence why I haven’t been posting a lot of pictures of it. I want my friends to be somewhat surprised ( and hopefully impressed) when they see the finished piece for the first time. But I suppose I can post a couple of little snippets that I have worked on lately. Enjoy and thanks for “listening” to my rant.

marbles

Marbles in a bottle.

nestingdollNesting Doll

rings

Wedding Rings Resting on a Mirror

swatch4 swatch3 swatch2 swatch1

Here are some swatches from my palette which I thought were intriguing.

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

One thought on “My Personal Ground Hog Day

  1. Wow that’s persistence, I’m sure you’ll move on like in the movie, great movie. :)

Leave a Reply

