Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

Exploring Henry Moore

2 Comments

Today I spent my afternoon at the AGO (Art Gallery of Ontario) free of charge. Last week my boyfriend and I got an incredible deal on a duo year membership that we couldn’t pass up. It worked out perfectly really, I’ve been trying to go to the free night on Wednesdays for so long to draw but something always comes up. Always… but now I can go whenever I’m free! My intention today was to draw a few creepy african masks but they were in the middle of preparing something in that room so I was forced to get inspiration else where. The AGO doesn’t seem to have a lot of classical sculpture on exhibit at the moment or at least not in a place that would be comfortable to hunker down and draw in. So I decided (begrudgingly) to go to the Henry Moore Room. Henry Moore is a famous English sculptor and artist (Born 1898-1986). He is most famous for his semi-abstract monumental bronze sculptures. He also has done a lot of bronze and plaster miniatures. He mostly focused on female form. Here is the wikipedia post for him. It even has a panorama of the exhibit at the AGO. I’m not afraid to say that I have never been a fan of his, in fact I usually speed right through that room. It’s not that I don’t like abstract, I do, but not his sculpture. Something about the texture in some of his works has always thrown me off or some of his forms just don’t excite me or draw my interest at all, or at least until today. I grabbed a stool and started drawing and suddenly I actually started to enjoy his work. The act of drawing his abstraction as accurately as I could suddenly made me appreciate the forms he had created. The more I drew and studied his work the more I could see where he kept his work organic or where he made deliberate and sharp shifts and the dramatic and subtle. Who knew there was so much wonder in that room?! *shrug*

IMG_5321

My drawing of “Three Piece Reclining Figure No. 2: Bridge Prop” 1962 by Henry Moore

The “M” shape is actually separate from the back piece but I’m drawing it from the side.

IMG_5322

My drawing of “Working Model for “Oval with Points” 1968-1969 by Henry Moore

Since I can no longer go to life drawing sessions I thought I would make drawing at the AGO a more regular thing. Don’t be surprised if you see more drawings of Henry Moore’s work.

Side Note : While I was drawing some shuffling photographer walked by, took some pics and then sat down on one of the stands and took a few of me while I was drawing. I’m glad I went to the salon this morning…

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

2 thoughts on “Exploring Henry Moore

  1. I love the Henry Moore room, I liked hearing about your experience of sketching his sculptures. And of course, looking good in photos are important. :)

Leave a Reply

