Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

New Painting and Why the Silence

2 Comments

Hello everyone I’m still here I swear! A couple of months back I had my last scheduled group show so I decided to focus on personal projects that I have been neglecting. Of course this prompted me to not paint for a month. Bad Jessica! I know I know. Now the project that I am working on I can’t show you the progress because it is for someone specifically and now that it is close to being finished I want to keep it a surprise. So because of that I haven’t been working on any other paintings so I have had literally nothing to post. Not a thing. Not even sketchbook stuff. I haven’t even been sketching. I did do 4 portrait commissions in pencil. There’s that, but I don’t feel like sharing.

ALTHOUGH It was very recently my birthday and my loving and caring boyfriend bought me the most beautiful bouquet of flowers and I just HAD to stop everything and paint them. I love it when I have a moment to paint flowers because I usually take these paintings and go in crazy directions with them. Lately I’ve been forced to use pencil on occasion these last couple of months ( More of a pen girl really ) and I decided, since I have so much new graphite supplies now, to incorporate it with my painting. With every painting I do I’m trying to loosen up my style and I think I really got some place amazing with this. Anyway here it is.

sketch

When I started I had no plan I just did whatever came to mind which was graphite and then maybe some solvent and oh look at that effect! and so on and so forth…

firstcolour

Then began adding paint and removing paint and stuff.

 flower

Went back to the little flower.

finalflower

Went back and forth with paint and graphite until this happened! The finished painting. Abstraction is difficult for me so I’m quite happy with how it turned out. I really want to continue to work in this way, we shall see what happens.

details

Close up details. Mmmm texture.

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

2 thoughts on “New Painting and Why the Silence

  1. Cool! I love seeing the evolution of your bday flower painting, the colours and textures!

Leave a Reply

