Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

My Piece at Propeller Gallery Opening Night – Warning Nudity!

Leave a comment

Last night was the big opening for Propeller Gallery’s new show “The Sex Offensive: Emancipating Gender” for World Pride Toronto. I have a piece in the show that I’m sure you’ve seen before, The Blue Rose. This group show showcases  incredible artists and work and overall I thought was very well curated. Here are some pics of my favourites and the dramatic performance piece at the end. I was a bit overwhelmed and forgot to take pictures of all the pieces, my apologies to my artist friends.

 

IMG_4571

Here I am all dressed up beside my painting, The Blue Rose.

IMG_4548

These pieces were essentially about recreating the genesis story in the bible. I love the juxtaposition of medias used.

IMG_4547

These are illustrations done on china showing basically lesbian love making. They were extremely well done!

IMG_4545

Hand and penis embroidered on denim shorts. So great.

IMG_4549

The same artists from above did this one as well. I just love the imagery of this, you can do no wrong with flying penises.

IMG_4546

This photo makes me so happy.IMG_4550

In the back, where my painting was, this was set up to accompany a performance peice.

IMG_4551

The performers are ready to go.

IMG_4554

Here they’re observing the images on the wall, possibly reflecting. There was a lot of heavy breathing.

IMG_4559

Then is suddenly got kinky with dominatrix and sexual acts.

IMG_4564

This went on for a while.

IMG_4561

Then she went into the audience and starting hitting people (very lightly) with her whip.

IMG_4566

They made out after this. Which surprised me a bit as there wasn’t any kissing up until this point.

IMG_4568

You can see my painting! The performance was basically done after this moment of “worship”. I personally found myself uncomfortable during the majority of the performance but I guess that was the point. I applaud them though for sticking in character for such a long time even after some individuals started getting chatty and disruptive.  Regardless, it was interesting and I applaud myself for sticking around and watching the whole thing. I had a great night and met some amazing people and I suggest you should all go down there on Saturday to see the rest of the show during Nuit Rose.

 

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

Leave a Reply

