Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

Little Experiment, Little Flower

4 Comments

I did a little flower study last week and if you are on any of my other social media sites then you have probably already seen it. In today’s post I’m going to explain the process I took.

Whenever I’m given a bouquet of flowers, like I was two Fridays ago, I have to paint them! Long time followers may remember me mentioning this obsession before. I thought this would be the perfect time to experiment with media.

Through experimentation and lots and lots of painting I have discovered that I really like painting on TerraSkin paper, a brand of paper made entirely of crushed stone. It’s completely smooth, non-porous so no priming needed and it doesn’t bend or buckle like regular paper does. I paint very thinly so I love how there is no other texture than what my brush makes unlike when painting on canvas. The only problem is that stone paper needs to be framed unlike canvas that be put on the wall as is. SO, I conceived the idea of using a very strong adhesive and mounting the stone paper on thick wood panel and it worked like a charm! Now I just need to try this on a much larger scale and see if the adhesive is still just as permanent.

20140218-095106.jpg I also experimented with a new colour. I added Viridian Green to a limited palette of Alizarin Crimson and Cadmium Yellow and White. This green is intense, think of the most pine green, almost vibrant Xmas green, right out of the tube. I found It makes a great leaf green and beautiful pinks and purples.

20140218-095702.jpg When things are not working out, take it off and do it again.

20140218-100032.jpgFinished! 8″ by 8″ on stone paper mounted on wood panel.

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

4 thoughts on “Little Experiment, Little Flower

  1. You’ll have to let me know what sort of adhesive you’re using, and where you get your wood panels. I’d be curious to see how that works on photo prints.

    • I already had some panels from a long time ago but I know that DeSerres and Curries has them. I used Super77 adhesive spray which I bought from DeSerres. I like the spray cause it makes an even coat but it tends to get everywhere so either put something down to protect the floor or use it outside. It comes off easily enough with a solvent if you do get it on something other then the wood. It may buckle the photo paper if you spray right on it so I would spray the wood instead.

  2. I have to say I like the background much better in your unfinished version. The background in the finished painting is quite flat.

Leave a Reply

