Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

100 Protrait Project: A Year in Review

Leave a comment

A year ago, around this time, I hatched the idea of doing 100 portraits by 2014 to improve my portrait painting skills. Well a year has gone by (already?!) and as of today I’ve only done 8. (I’m including my self portrait because I don’t want to paint myself again haha) This made me wonder, “What in the world have I been doing all year?” Well I’ve painted a lot of flowers, been in two group shows, worked on some old paintings, started some new paintings did a few commissions oh and I moved to a different city. I guess I’ve been busy painting other things.

Well regardless of the small amount, I think I’ve improved quite a bit and I’ve definitely found a painting style I like. Let’s see what 2014 will bring me and I’ll try to double the amount I did this year for 2015 ;)

In the mean time, check out the progression to “Rose”.

20131211-080249.jpgI almost always do my underpainting in red. I’m sure they have scientific tests about that somewhere.

20131211-081131.jpgLaying it down!

20131211-081258.jpgFinished! Her collar took way longer then I thought it would. Overall, this has been one of the most enjoyable portraits I’ve done to date.

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

Leave a Reply

