Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

April Showers Brings May Paintings?

2 Comments

I have decided that for the month of April I will be working on some well overdue paintings, more specifically a very old wedding present. I’m moving to Toronto next month or so and I figure new city, new projects! So I need to get these old ones done and out of the way. Plus the guilt, oh the guilt! They’re going on 2 years of marriage…
So basically, I won’t be working on any portraits until next month.

20130403-000131.jpg

I just recently gave all their stuff back but before I did I took a bunch of reference pictures of the still life. I might of gone a little over board.

20130403-000807.jpg

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

2 thoughts on “April Showers Brings May Paintings?

  1. That painting is flatter than a pancake… I don’t mean to be mean, but it’s much too blue/cool compared to those beautiful warm tones in the references. Like the mirror with the rings hanging on it has such a nice warm glow. Sorry if I sound harsh.

    • Oh it definitely is! At this point in the process it’s still at the rough under painting stage. I hope that once I have it what I consider “finished” it will have a lot more depth and bit more warmth.
      It’s okay, criticism is always welcome :)

Leave a comment