Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

New Year New Project

1 Comment

Happy new year everyone! I’m glad we all survived the end of the world.

So, I am one of those people that like to have a fresh start in the new year with resolutions and new projects and stuff. This year I decided to challenge myself with a BIG project. If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram then you’ve probably already seen the beginnings of it.

I’m painting a series of 100 portrait studies! It’s going to be a year long project and I’ll have to pump out two a week if I want to finish it by 2014. As an idea it’s not very original but the reason I’m doing it is because I really need practise painting faces and people.  I’ve been doing a lot of flowers, landscapes and still lifes (booooring) but I have a lot of ideas floating around in my head for big paintings that all involve models. I personally don’t think I’m very good at painting people so these ideas have just stayed on the back burner of my mind, but not for long!

I’ve made some stipulations for my assignment and they go as such. All 100 portraits need to be of 100 different people. Each person needs to be someone I know, whether it’s a friend, family, a coworker or acquatence. I will not be painting random people from the internet or celebrities. I know I wont be able to get all 100 people to sit for me but I will be trying to do as much from life as possible. I’ve noticed that bribery of wine seems to help the persuasion. Also, each painting cannot take longer then a day, otherwise I will never get this project done and I wont work on any other artwork for the rest of the year. That is basically it, expect to have fun, and experiment while I’m at it!

1Sarah

“Sarah” The very first in the series! Im excited to compare this one to the very last and see the progression!

2Nikky

“Nikky” I am particularly proud of this portrait. I’ve been drawing Nikky forever but this is the first time it LOOKS like her!

2Nikkydetail

“Nikky” Detail!

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

One thought on “New Year New Project

  1. Keep on working, great job!

Leave a Reply

