Happy Sketch

My Random Happy Sketches!

My Sketchbook Gets A Makeover!

Leave a comment

I’ve been caught in the rain a few too many times and now my sketchbook has paid the price! The back cover fell off and seeing as the cover is just heavy pound paper and nothing more, it’s surprising it’s held out as long as it did! I’m a bit rough on my things, you know, tough love? Seeing as I love this sketchbook so much and It’s not even half way finished, I decided to put my self taught bookbinding skills to the test.

Oh Darling! Who could of done this to you?!

Gather all my supplies. . .

. . . and rip the rest of her cover off! Whahahah

I take out the old bookmark ribbon and a bit of the spine with it, Oops. . .

 Seize her up!

I have half of a cover! So far so good!

I’ve got the rest of the cover and now the boards to make this a Hardcover book.

I don’t want the holes to be black or white so I’m going to use some of the old cover to make them red to match the string.

I’m ready!

Now everything is cut out and ready to be glued together!

I start by glueing down the inside boards and covering up the holes.

Now that the boards are in place I start glueing down the inside covers. It’s at this point that I realize I cut the outside covers too small as there isn’t enough overhang to fold over. Silly me!

Voila!

Now I glue down a new braided bookmark.

The final step! Glueing the cover to the spine of the book!

DONE! pfft. . . those are my latest sketches. . .

What a Beauty!

The Back

The Front

Fashion Pose!

There you have it! My sketchbook revamped! Hope you enjoyed the process!

Author: Jessica Caissie

As a painter and artist I find it hard sometimes to not take my work too seriously, so I created this blog! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I do. In the mean time, if you are curious as to what else I draw, check out my online portfolio, http://jessicacaissie.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers